An open letter to WNYC

Dear WNYC,

I am writing as a long-time listener and donor to offer my heartfelt thanks for all of the free content I plan to enjoy in the coming years. In the past, I have donated every fall like clockwork, and have been happy to increase my contribution in especially flush years.

I will confess that it has been a bit guilt-inducing to weather the endless pledge drives during months when I’m not donating. You can imagine, then, my sense of freedom when I read about your station’s cowardly, inept and gratuitously nasty mishandling of Caitlin Curran. You were already on thin ice in my book given your association with the organization that fired Lisa Simeone (another freelancer – curious that with your $57 million annual budget you refuse to pay benefits), but this was too much.

So I thank you for Radiolab, Planet Money and Selected Shorts, as well as for the free streaming. I look forward to enjoying it all with a clear conscience.

Good luck to you.

Anchard

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

